Which ones are paid the best?

Which ones are paid the best?

The SEC softball tournament is here.

All thirteen of the conference’s programs will play May 7-11 at Jane B. Moore Field in Auburn. No. No. 12 Kentucky and No. 13 Ole Miss will get things started on Tuesday (6 p.m. CT, SEC Network), and the championship game will be played Saturday (4 p.m. CT, ESPN2).

Nine of the past 11 national championships have been won by an SEC program (Alabama in 2012 and Florida in 2014 and 2015) or Oklahoma, which will join the conference next season. When the Sooners officially become an SEC team, coach Patty Gasso and her $1.625 million salary will be at the top of the conference, according to the Oklahoman.

Until then, Florida’s Tim Walton sits atop the SEC for the 2024 season with annual compensation of $550,855. Texas A&M’s Trisha Ford is next at $540,000, Alabama’s Patrick Murphy follows her with $530,000 and Tennessee’s Karen Weekly ($500,000) is the only other coach making half a million or more. Texas, which will also join the SEC next season, will pay coach Mike White $625,000.

Compensation information was obtained from the schools by the USA TODAY Sports Network through open records requests. The totals do not include amounts earned in other years as annual incentive bonuses, the value of standard benefits such as health care, or the value of potentially taxable items including, but not limited to, automobiles or car allowances; country club memberships; match tickets for the regular season, postseason and other sports.

WHAT TO KNOW: TV, times, tickets, parking for SEC Tournament in Auburn

SEC softball coaches compensation 2024

  • Tim Walton, Florida: $550,855₁
  • Trisha Ford, Texas A&M: $540,000₂
  • Patrick Murphy, Alabama: $530,000₃
  • Karen Weekly, Tennessee: $500,000₄
  • Beth Torina, LSU: $480,000₅
  • Courtney Deifel, Arkansas: $475,000₆
  • Rachel Lawson, Kentucky: $355,000₇
  • Mickey Dean, Auburn: $300,000₈
  • Larissa Anderson, Missouri: $275,625₉
  • Jamie Traschel, Ole Miss: $255,000₁₀
  • Tony Baldwin, Georgia: $237,000₁₁
  • Beverly Smith, South Carolina: $223,290
  • Samantha Ricketts, State of Mississippi: $186,000
  1. Walton’s total includes a $95,000 equipment supplement, a $75,000 lifetime bonus and a $4,000 academic incentive bonus.
  2. Ford’s total includes the $10,000 it receives in connection with the Texas A&M equipment deal.
  3. Murphy’s total includes a $200,000 talent allowance he will receive.
  4. Weekly’s compensation increased by $160,000 from last year, according to her contract.
  5. Torina’s total includes $30,000 in media participation and $50,000 in longevity compensation.
  6. Deifel’s base salary increased $25,000 from last year due to Arkansas’ appearance in the NCAA tournament. The total reported here also includes a $100,000 speaking fee.
  7. Lawson’s total includes a $50,000 lifetime bonus and $5,000 for media and endorsements.
  8. Dean’s total includes a $25,000 endorsement payment and a $25,000 personal appearance payment.
  9. Anderson’s base salary will increase 5% annually, according to her contract.
  10. Traschel’s total includes base salary from the state contract, plus any compensation from the contract with the Ole Miss Athletics Foundation, a private nonprofit that refuses to release its agreements. The university has provided a summary of the current contract annual salary and available bonuses.
  11. Baldwin’s total was provided by the university, and not through an analysis of his contract.

Steve Berkowitz of USA TODAY Sports contributed to this report.